Simmons University Names Ninth President

Simmons University is thrilled to announce that Dr. Lynn Perry Wooten has been unanimously selected by the Board of Trustees to serve as our ninth president, effective July 1, 2020.

Lynn Perry Wooten

Join us in welcoming Dr. Lynn Perry Wooten to the Simmons community

The appointment of Dr. Lynn Perry Wooten comes following a thorough, inclusive and collaborative search, culminating in the selection of a president who is uniquely suited to lead and advance the transformation that has begun at Simmons.

Dr. Wooten's unique combination of experience, knowledge and engagement with students, faculty, and academic leaders will serve Simmons well as we build on our successes, continue to address our challenges, and build the One Simmons we envision for the future. She is collaborative, curious, and passionate about learning, education, and the student experience.

We're proud to welcome Dr. Wooten to the Simmons community and invite you to share your own message of welcome with our ninth president.

Lynn Perry Wooten

Read the Announcement

Meet Dr. Lynn Perry Wooten, Simmons University's ninth president.

Read Now
Common Grounds

Read and Share Welcome Messages

Read messages of welcome from Simmons community members to our ninth president and share your own!

Simmons University logo on a wall

About the Presidential Search

Find information on the search process, the leadership profile, search committee, search firm and frequently asked questions.

Learn More
The cupola at Simmons University

Past Presidents

Since our founding in 1899, Simmons University has had only 8 presidents. Learn more about the past presidents of Simmons.

Past Presidents