Skip to this page's content

CommTracks Brings Home the Gold!

cspa2.jpgThe Department of Communications' CommTracks magazine, which is produced in Studio5, has been named a Gold Medalist by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, which is affiliated with the Graduate School of Journalism at Columbia University.

The magazine also earned additional All-Columbian Honors for special merit in its content and design. All-Columbian Honors are only awarded when a publication has achieved the 95th percentile or higher in one or more of the three categories of judging: Organization, Content (which includes both writing and visuals), and Design. CommTracks received perfect scores in both the Content and Design categories, earning 850 points out of a possible 850 points. Overall, the magazine amassed 983 points out of 1,000 possible points.

According to the judges, the writing and visuals in the magazine were "excellent" and the design was both "excellent [and] unique."

The editorial team for the 2010 edition included Elaina Natario, Michaela Eichenbaum, Rebecca Jefferson, and Caitlin Smith. Professors James Corcoran, who is also chair of the Department of Communications, Ellen Grabiner, and Sarah Burrows, advised the team. Studio5 is a student-run professional communications agency in the department. The 2010 edition is the fifth volume produced by Studio5, but the first to be entered in the CSPA's critique and contest competitions.

"I can't tell you how proud I am of -- and happy for - the students and my colleagues in the department," said Corcoran. "The 2010 team has set a high bar for future CommTracks editions, but I have every confidence that our students are up to that challenge."

The magazine also is in the running for the prestigious Gold and Silver Crown Awards, which will be announced in January. The CSPA has nearly 1,600 member schools from around the world. Member schools range from large institutions, such as the Universities of Texas, Oklahoma, Oregon, and Miami and Indiana and Penn State Universities, to smaller private schools such as Carleton College in Minnesota, Morningside College in Sioux Falls, S.D., and Columbia College in Chicago. The CSPA has sponsored these annual critiques and contests since it was founded in 1925 with the purpose to "seek out and publicize the best practices in student writing, editing, and publishing."

Posted by Deirdre Yee on August 15, 2010 12:14 PM