SLIS Faculty Award Graduating SLIS Students

May 16, 2017


The 2017 Commencement Awards were given to exceptional SLIS graduates

The Faculty of the School of Library and Information Science celebrates the following outstanding students, chosen as recipients of the 2017 Commencement Awards. The students were given their awards on Monday, May 15 at Simmons College, Boston campus. 

Katherine Luer received the 2017 Estelle Jussim Award for the Visual Arts. The Estelle Jussim Award is given each year to a graduating SLIS student who has demonstrated great promise in the visual arts.  It honors Dr. Estelle Jussim, a GSLIS faculty member who was a distinguished photographic historian and scholar.

Jessica Weren was recipient of the 2017 Children's Literature - Department Chair's Recognition. This award celebrates the academic achievement and professional engagement in children's  and young adult literature of a graduating student.

Henry Moss White received the Writing for Children or Young Adults Award, which honors a graduate student with strong academic performance and outstanding creative work for children and/or young adults. This is the second year of this Children's literature award.  

Kayla Hammond Larkin received the 2017 Outstanding Information Science Student Award. The Simmons Student Chapter of the Association for Information Science & Technology awards an annual prize for service to the chapter and academic achievement in information science.

Jes Caron received the 2017 Kenneth R. Shaffer Outstanding Student Award. The award is given each year to a student whom the faculty has identified as outstanding and possessing great leadership potential. It honors Dr. Shaffer who served as director of the School for almost thirty years. Caron's name will be inscribed on the Shaffer plague that hangs in the James M. Matarazzo Student Lounge.

Amanda Pizzollo received the 2017 LIS West Campus Leadership Award. The SLIS faculty and administration honor an outstanding student in the SLIS Western campus program who best exemplifies the leadership values of academic excellence, community building, service, and commitment to the success of other students in the program.

Theresa Neary received of the 2017 Daniel Fleming Award for the Outstanding School Library Teacher Student. This annual award is given in memory of the dedication, commitment to student learning and teaching excellence that Dan Fleming’s career as professor, school library teacher, and school administrator exemplified. It is awarded to a Simmons graduate student enrolled in the School Library Teacher Program who has demonstrated academic excellence, outstanding achievement in the school library teacher practicum experiences, leadership, and service—all qualities associated with its beloved and highly esteemed dedicatee, Daniel Fleming.

At the awards ceremony, each graduate was praised for their commitment, scholarship, and creativity. For more photos from the event, visit our Commencement Awards 2017 album

Photo: Assistant Professor Laura Saunders, Jes Caron '16LS, Dean Eileen Abels