SLIS Community News, July 2017

July 26, 2017

Melanie Kimball and Book 540x463

Conference presentations, publications, and other accomplishments of our faculty, students, alumni, and staff


Dean Eileen Abels co-presented "Library and Information Experts Succeeding in the 21st Century: A Town Hall Dialogue on Competencies, Careers, and Successful Practice," a panel discussion facilitated by ALA President Julie Todoro, at the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Chicago, IL on June 24.

Associate Professor Melanie Kimball (pictured, above) co-edited Engaging Teens with Story: How to Inspire and Educate Youth with Storytelling (Libraries Unlimited, 2017). Kimball also authored the chapter, "Folk and Fairy Tales and Popular Media: Strong Females, Rehabilitated Witches, and Villains We Love to Hate."

Senior Lecturer Megan Dowd Lambert presented a panel discussion, "Words and Pictures: Picture Book Author/Illustrators Discuss the Whole Book," with picture book illustrators David Hyde Costello, Don Tate, and Duncan Tonatiuh at ALA on June 24.

Associate Professor Laura Saunders co-presented "Going with (and Growing with) the Framework: Teaching Information Literacy with a Social Justice Lens," at the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, IL on June 23. Saunders also presented "Re-Framing Information Literacy for Social Justice," at ALA, and was elected to a second term as Director of Beta Phi Mu at the Annual Business Meeting, both on June 24.

Senior Lecturer Rebecka Sheffield presented her paper, "Teaching Justice in Archival Education" at the Association of Canadian Archivists Conference in Ottawa on June 8.

Rong TangAssociate Professor Rong Tang spoke at the School of Information Management at Nanjing University and two other universities in early June. Her topic for Nanjing University's presentation is "Information Behavior Research: Past, Present, and Future." Tang also represented the SLIS doctoral program at "Leaders Wanted: LIS Doctoral Options Fair" on June 24 at the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, IL. (Pictured: Rong Tang at Wuhan University; photo courtesy of Rong Tang).


Maya H. Bergamasco, Sandra R. Delaney, Rebecca L. Gordon (Inspire AASL Scholar), and Sony Prosper (Calloway Scholar) have been awarded Spectrum Scholarships from the American Library Association. These scholarships are awarded to exceptional students pursuing graduate degrees in library and information science. According to the ALA website, "the 2017 application cycle, the Spectrum Scholarship Program received three times as many applications as there were available scholarships, and the majority of this year’s applicants were deemed highly fundable. A prestigious committee of nine jurors selected this year’s Spectrum Scholars based on their commitment to diversity, commitment to entering the library profession, demonstrated community outreach, academic ability and achievements and leadership potential."


Mary E. Helms ’81LS, associate professor in the McGoogan Library of Medicine, received the Medical Library Association’s (MLA) President's Award as part of a committee updating the association’s governance documents. The award, which is one of the highest honors offered by the MLA, was given to the group at the 2017 MLA annual meeting in May.

Mary Piorun ’14LS has been named director of the Lamar Soutter Library at UMass-Medical.


Research Services Librarian Dawn Stahura has written a chapter for The Feminist Reference Desk: Concepts, Critiques, and Conversations (Library Juice Press, Summer 2017). Her chapter is titled "Filling in the Gaps: Using Zines to Amplify the Voices of People Who Are Silenced in Academic Research."