SLIS Community News, August 2017

August 31, 2017

Laura Saunders

Accomplishments of our faculty and alumni


Adjunct Abigail Baines ’10LS launched the Five Colleges Compass Digital Library over the summer. The project includes libraries of Mount Holyoke, Smith, and Hampshire College, where Baines is the Systems & Discovery Librarian at the Harold F. Johnson Library. 

Associate Professor Laura Saunders is collaborating with Rachel Gans-Boriskin in Communications at Simmons and Lisa Hinchliffe at University of Illinois Library on a project funded through a National Forum grant. A symposium will be organized at Simmons, focused on the theme of libraries and allied institutions as community anchors for information access and literacy. The participants of the symposium will produce a white paper, along with recommendations for LIS programs and curricula to develop information literacy. 


Ashleigh Coren ’14LS was named  ACRL's member of the week in July 2017. Currently a resident librarian at West Virginia University in Morgantown, West Virginia, earlier this year Coren co-authored a chapter in Leading in the New Academic Library, Libraries Unlimited, May 2017. 

Linnea Johnson ’01, ’04LS, ’15SM is now Advisor of Commodity Management for Dell EMC. 

Rachel Karasick ’17LS was a summer fellow at the Harvard Library Innovation Lab to explore the borderlands of libraries, technology, and law. Along with her cohort, she presented the results of her work in August at the Harvard Law School.

Amanda Merk ’01LS is now the Executive Director of the Norman Williams Public Library in Chester, VT. 

Lee Pasackow ’86LS has retired after 13 years as Business Librarian in the Goizueta Business Library at Emory University. 

Stacey Potito ’97LS is Senior Business Intelligence Specialist at Charles River Associates.

David Read ’01LS is Senior Analyst, Content Management at EBSCO Information Services. 

Dr. Jane Zhang ’11LDS was awarded tenure and promoted to Associate Professor in the Department of Library and Information Science, at The Catholic University of America.