SLIS Commencement Awards

May 19, 2015

Spring 2015 graduates recently received commencement awards.

James Roger Gehrt received the Estelle Jussim Award for the Visual Arts. The Estelle Jussim Award is given each year to a graduating SLIS student who has demonstrated great promise in the visual arts. The award honors Dr. Estelle Jussim, a SLIS faculty member who was a distinguished photographic historian and scholar.

Alec Chunn received the 2015 Children's Literature Department Chair's Recognition Award. 

Anne Pepitone received the Outstanding Information Science Student Award. The Simmons Student Chapter of the Association for Information Science & Technology awards an annual prize for service to the chapter and academic achievement in information science.

Lindsey Clarke received the Kenneth R. Shaffer Outstanding Student Award. The award is given each year to a student whom the faculty has identified as outstanding and possessing great leadership potential. The award honors Dr. Shaffer who served as director of the School for almost thirty years. Lindsey's name will be inscribed on the Shaffer plague that hangs in the James M. Matarazzo Student Lounge.

Katherine Hand received the SLIS Western Campus Leadership Award. The SLIS faculty and administration honor an outstanding student at the SLIS West campus who best exemplifies the leadership values of academic excellence, community building, service, and commitment to the success of other students in the program.

Jill Leibowitz received the Daniel Fleming Award for the Outstanding School Library Teacher Student. This annual award is given in memory of the dedication, commitment to student learning and teaching excellence that Dan Fleming’s career as professor, school library teacher, and school administrator exemplified. It is awarded to a Simmons graduate student enrolled in the School Library Teacher Program who has demonstrated academic excellence, outstanding achievement in the school library teacher practicum experiences, leadership, and service – all qualities associated with its beloved and highly esteemed dedicatee, Daniel Fleming.

The awards for undergraduates were presented at the Senior-Faculty Dinner on April 30, 2015. Hannah Sieber was given the Computer Science Award, and Israt Pasha received the Web Development and Design Award.