School of Business Celebrates the 2018 Honor Society Inductees

May 04, 2018

Harriet Chandler and Dean Deyton

Congratulations to the exceptional inductees of the Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society!

On Monday, April 30, the School of Business held their annual Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) Honor Society Induction Ceremony. In addition to several graduate and undergraduate student inductees, the chapter also honored Senator Harriette Chandler '83MBA and faculty member, Professor Catherine Robbins.

The BGS Chapter Honoree, Senator Harriette Chandler ’83MBA, began her political career in 1991 in Worcester, Massachusetts. She was elected to the Massachusetts House of Representatives in 1995 and in 2001, was the first woman from Worcester to be elected to the Massachusetts Senate. As a role model for students, her distinguished and impactful career serves as an inspiration to the Simmons community. At the event she encouraged attendees to consider public service and government as a way of putting a business education to work, coupled with personal and professional excellence. Senator Chandler also noted that networking is one of the biggest advantages of being a member of BGS and encouraged all Simmons students to consider her as part of their network. 

Professor Catherine Robbins, Program Director of the MBA in Health Care & Professor of Practice, was the BGS Faculty Honoree. Director of the Undergraduate Management Program, Professor John Lowe, presented Professor Robbins with this honor and said, "Cathy Robbins is one of those amazing and highly desirable commodities in business education who has outstanding accomplishments in the field of practice coupled with a desire to be an excellent teacher."

Picture of Business School students Patricia Deyton, John Lowe, Cathy Robbins

The School of Business would like to congratulate all of the exceptional BGS Honor Society inductees: 

  • Undergraduate honorees: Caroline Latta '21, Anastasia Maher '20, Molly McDonald '18  and Abigail Willis '19
  • MBA honorees: Lisa Elavsky '18MBA, Vivian Ho '18MBA, Bethany Stewart '18MBA and Jenna Tinsley '11, '18MBA
  • Heath Care MBA honorees: Jaclyn Glenn '18MBA, Christopher Holland '18MBA, Stephanie Malanga '18MBA, Tamara Restrepo '18MBA, Alyssa Tomolonis '18MBA and Manjola Ujkaj '18MBA

Main photo: Senator Harriette Chandler '83MBA and Associate Dean Patricia Deyton

Middle left photo: Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society inductees

Middle right photo: Associate Dean Patricia Deyton, Professor John Lowe and Professor Catherine Robbins