School of Business Celebrates Graduates

December 20, 2017

Picture of Business School students

The Simmons School of Business recognized the graduates from the MBA and MSM programs

On Wednesday, December 11, the Simmons School of Business congratulated 23 dedicated students from the MBA and MSM programs who completed their degree requirements in August or October 2017 and December 2017 (conferral date 1/18). Associate Dean Patricia Deyton and program faculty and staff celebrated their remarkable accomplishments.

MBA: Olga Alacron, Lilian Alrvarado, Jenifer Banks,Patty Collinsworth, Jodi Delibertis, Eileen Durgin, Amanda Galban, Anne Hillier, Megan Higgins, Kelly Harris, Erin O'Connell and Lindsay Winkler

MSM: Faith Castiglione, Marissa Cyr, Liishi Durbin,Teresa Griffin, Kristina Pechulis, Vivian Phelan, Anika Munroe, Sara Purisky, Julie Thermidor, Fatima Smith and Jaunita White

Eileen DurginEileen Durgin, '18SM spoke on behalf of the MBA graduating class. She was selected by her peers to be the class speaker. Durgin said, “We have gone through much together as we learned how to create a space for ourselves at the table. We have faced moments of challenge, enlightenment and personal and professional insights”.

She concluded her speech by telling her fellow classmates, “We will take our skills and Simmons values to many different places throughout the city, state, country and the world; and to many different positions - including the Board Room.....we are ready to create a difference, bring value and claim our seat at the table.... wherever we go".

  • Amanda Galban '18SM was selected by her MSM classmates as the recipient of the Pat Miller Peer Award. Students select the peer who best personifies Pat Miller's values of strength, leadership, and willingness to help whenever help is needed. In short, it is awarded to the student who has truly made a difference in the lives of his/her classmates.
  • Liishi Durbin '18SM was selected by her MSM classmates as the recipient of the Pat Miller Peer Award for the MSM program.
  • Professor Areen Shahbari was selected by the graduating MSM students as this year's recipient of the Teaching Excellence Award. Professor Shahbari was also selected to speak on behalf of the MSM graduating class. In her absence, Professor Todd Herrmann graciously read her heartfelt speech.
  • Professor Jane Hughes was selected by the graduating MBA students as this year's recipient of the Teaching Excellence Award. This is awarded each year to a School of Business faculty member who has made a difference in the classroom through teaching excellence, mastery of subject matter, clarity of communication, meaningful evaluation of student work, and zeal for the art of education.
  • Sara PuriskyPurisky, '15 '17SM was selected by her MSM classmates as the student speaker for the MSM program. Sara, who is also an Academic Advisor at Simmons, shared her 5 tips for getting through finals. Read her story here.