Who We Are

The Simmons College Police Department

The Public Safety Department provides police and security services to the Simmons College community. The department operates around the clock, every day of the year. Our sworn police staff includes a Director of Public Safety/Chief of Police, an Assistant Director/Deputy Chief of Police, Lieutenants, Sergeants, and Police Officers. Non-sworn Public Safety Officers provide dispatching and patrol services. Public Safety also employs security personnel provided through Longwood, a contracted security company. Contract security officers assist Public Safety with accessing facilities and providing high visibility patrols.

Honey Pike

Chief Honey Pike

Learn more about our Chief of Police and Director of Public Safety!

Our Mission

It is the Mission of the Simmons College Police Department to provide a high quality, safe and secure environment which is conducive to an educational atmosphere. To provide and uphold federal, state, and local laws and uphold the mission of Simmons College. To provide service and conduct dedicated to the principles of:

  • Honesty — Being Honorable and truthful in all of our actions.
  • Integrity — Doing the right thing and acting beyond reproach.
  • Professionalism — Living our lives through principles and ideals, not just priorities.
  • Respect — Treating others as we would like to be treated.
  • Sensitivity — Showing compassion and understanding for others.
  • Trust — Maintaining the confidence of others through sound character and professional excellence.
The Department
Dispatch Center

The Dispatch Center is located at 1 Palace Road suite P-106 on the Main Academic Campus. It is staffed by trained Public Safety Communications professionals around the clock, every day of the year. The Dispatch Center is equipped with several state of the art campus safety and security monitoring devices that provide our dispatchers with the ability to monitor the safety and security of our campus facilities. These systems consist of the main fire alarm panels for the College, an access control (Proxy card access and door alarm monitoring) system, our Criminal Justice Information Systems (CJIS) computer, and our report writing and police logs system. These systems alert the Dispatcher to situations which require further attention. The Dispatchers have the ability to direct immediate response to incidents requiring police or other College services.


All Simmons police officers (Chief, Deputy Chief, Lieutenants, Sergeants and Police Officers) are trained and sworn law enforcement officers and derive their authority from Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 22c, Section s63. All sworn personnel have attended a Massachusetts State certified police academy or its equivalent and have arrest authority on Simmons College property. Sworn officers are also Deputy Sheriffs in Suffolk County. Officers receive annual in-service training through the Commonwealth to maintain First Responder medical certification, as well as remain current in the laws of the Commonwealth. Additionally, the Public Safety Department conducts periodic in-service training to enhance the training received at the Commonwealth level. Officers attend specialized training, with course content related to safety in a College environment such as:

  • Sexual Assault Investigations
  • Computer Investigations
  • Crime Prevention and Community Policing
  • Interview and Interrogation
  • Weapons of Mass Destruction
  • COBWEB training (Police Bike Patrol Training)
  • Supervisory Training
Department Personnel
Chief of Police/Director of Public Safety

Honey Pike honey.pike@simmons.edu

Deputy Chief of Public Safety

Vito Scotti vito.scotti@simmons.edu

Police Lieutenant

Kevin Leonard kevin.leonard@simmons.edu
Joseph Wilson joseph.wilson@simmons.edu

Police Sergeant

Jarrad Farrington jarrad.farrington@simmons.edu
Michael Cowin michael.cowin@simmons.edu
Robert Welch robert.welch@simmons.edu
Marc-Stephen Hutchins marcstephen.hutchins@simmons.edu
Francis Yannizzi francis.yannizzi@simmons.edu

Police Patrol Officer

Dahiana Mesa dahiana.mesa@simmons.edu
Aaron Smith aaron.smith@simmons.edu
Alheny Perez alheny.perez@simmons.edu
Jay Deiana jay.deiana@simmons.edu
Cassandra Dunbar cassandra.dunbar@simmons.edu
Matthew Beauchemin matthew.beauchemin@simmons.edu
Craig LaRocco craig.larocco@simmons.edu

Public Safety Officer (PSO)

Kimberly Mar kimberly.mar@simmons.edu
William Rolls william.rolls@simmons.edu
Anthony Marcella anthony.marcell@simmons.edu
Justin Brophy justin.brophy@simmons.edu
Wendel Seney wendel.seney@simmons.edu
Sami Mahmoud sami.mahmoud@simmons.edu
Elizabeth Amaseimogha elizabeth.amaseimogha@simmons.edu
Kaly Davidson kaly.davidson@simmons.edu
Angelique Samuel-Marshall angelique.samuel-marshall@simmons.edu

See department organizational chart here.